Colorado Criminal Defense Attorney
In Colorado, assault can be charged as a first degree, second degree, or third degree misdemeanor or felony. When determining the severity of the charge and offense, various details of the crime will be taken into consideration, the age of the victim, whether this is the first or subsequent offense, and if the crime involved a deadly weapon.
If charged as a felony, an assault conviction can result in the following penalties:
Class 3 Felony: Up to $750,000 in fines; 4-12 years in prison
Class 4 Felony: Up to $500,000 in fines; 2-6 years in prison
Class 5 Felony: Up to $100,000 in fines; 1-3 years in prison
If charged as a misdemeanor, an assault conviction can result in the following penalties:
Class 1 Misdemeanor: Up to $5,000 in fines; 6-18 months incarceration
Class 3 Misdemeanor: Up to $750 in fines; 6 months incarceration
If you have been charged with a crime, contact an experienced Denver Criminal Defense attorney, Molly Jansen Law Group, by filling out our online contact form or call our office for a free consultation.
Click on links to read Colorado Revised Statues